Congratulations to Jabel Hernandez and Sirelis Corujo for being crowned Mr and Miss Tenerife in the election gala at La Laguna on 24 and 25 September. The 30 male candidates pulled in 6,000 people to Plaza del Cristo and the ladies followed up with 5,000 the night after.

All the contestants looked assured thanks to a pre contest presentation gala at Hotel Jardin Tropical in La Caleta a few nights before. The 60 candidates and a specially invited audience of 160 got a sneak preview of the best that Tenerife province (includes La Palma, El Hierro, and La Gomera) had to offer. The show was hosted by TV presenter Daniel Montesdeoca and a special menu was served created especially for the event.

There were mixed fortunes for the local entrants in the big finals, 18 year old Ikram Zovaovine from Adeje got a consolation title of Miss Simpatia , and Daniel Afonso Castillo from Tijoco made the last five of Mr Tenerife. Better luck next time when Hotel Jardin Tropical expect to host the presentation gala for the fourth straight year.